Corridor Management Entity

History of the Indian River Lagoon Byway CME:

In April of 1999, 36 active community supporters representing Brevard and Indian River Counties, eight municipalities, the St John’s River Water Management District, the Florida Inland Navigation District and a number of community organizations came together to discuss the importance and beauty of the Indian River Lagoon. After being introduced to the National Scenic Byways program and the Florida Scenic Highways Program by the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT), this coalition of regional advocates voted unanimously to seek designation as a Florida Scenic Highway.

Recently, the Indian River Lagoon National Scenic Byway Coalition celebrated its 12 year anniversary as an advocate for the Lagoon and its surrounding resources. In addition to its success in funding projects, the Coalition is now a federally recognized 501c3 organization with a corridor web site, high quality marketing materials that promote the intrinsic resources of this 195-mile byway, and a growing membership base.

The Coalition remains devoted to the mission of the Florida Scenic Highways Program of preserving, protecting and enhancing the intrinsic resources of the region through community based partnerships to promote economic prosperity through the enjoyment of its resources.

Our Defining Values:

  • Appreciation for the resources of the Indian River Lagoon
  • Building a vibrant local economy
  • Appreciation for the balance between community needs and the natural beauty of the region
  • Maintaining strong partnerships with other community advocacy groups having similar interests


View 2013 Annual Report »

View our Bylaws

IRLNSB Board of Directors:

  • Tim Ford, President
  • Robert (Bob) Day, Vice President
  • Nicole Holbrook, Treasurer

Full list of board members »

Meeting Minutes and Agenda